MTC Week 6/First Day in Mission Field…Sort Of

Hey everyone,

It’s been a crazy day today! Sadly I don’t have much time but I’ll try my best to explain the situation. Basically, my first area in the Califnoria San Fernando mission is San Francisco, California! Yeah, that San Fran. Before you say “wait what?” out loud let me explain. So basically what happened is this morning no one mentioned to my travel group that our flight from San Fran to Burbank (where we were to meet our mission president) was cancelled due to weather. We had literally no idea until we got to the airport. Since I was assigned to be the travel leader of the group of course I got super stressed haha. And to make things a little more interesting, everyone in my group wasn’t on the same bus so we didn’t meet up with them for awhile, and the packet with all the necessary emergency phone numbers that I needed had been picked up by someone else. Basically I learned how to be quite flexible today lol. But don’t worry, we figured it out and it all turned out okay. We got eventually met up and made it to the hotel rooms the Church had reserved for all of us. I got to call my mission president, President Hall at the hotel which was nice. He sounds really friendly and loving and I’m excited to work with him. We’re all doing great. So we’re staying in a hotel tonight and tomorrow morning we head out to Burbank to meet with the mission president and then I finally become a legit missionary! Cool side story: while we were waiting for the hotel shuttle bus everyone wanted to get out and start proselyting. The MTC had supplied about 20 pass-along cards, and they were all given out! I was so proud of everyone. Sadly I didn’t get much experience myself becuase I chose to stay back and watch the luggage but it amazed me how enthusiastic everyone was with doing the Lord’s work. The church is true!

Here’s a quick rundown of my the rest of my week.Basically it was really sad haha. We had our last classes with Hermano Si and Pagina on Saturday. 😦 We took some pictures and they shared some inpirational messages an stuff. Hermano Pagina showed us a video of a returned missionary from my mission and she described it as a “guetto paradise.” I was all like <333. I can’t wait to get out there and serve! On Sunday I had to turn in my iPad which was sad too. 😦 We had a Departure Devotional also later that day. Again, pretty much a motivational “go get em!” kind of deal. One quote that they shared from President Kimball that I liked: “My life is like my shoes, worn out by service.” I immediately made it a personal goal of mine to work so hard my shoes fall apart. We’ll see how that goes. The then Sunday Night Devotional was great too. BYU Men’s Chorus came and performed for us! They were way good. They performed an African Tribal song and a New Zealander traditional song that had everyone rockin lol. Possibly slightly innappropriate becuase it was still Sunday but I regret nothing. Oh yeah, they talked about that in Departure Devotional too. So go ahead and check that off the list. And I also saw David Tait! I didn’t catch it until the end but I saw him and gave him al little wave that he saw, gave me a big smile and waved back. Good to know that life is still fairly normal outside the mish. Other than that the week was pretty normal. Not very many lessons because we were trying to learn as much Spanish as possible. Btw, most of the Elders in my group in my travel group are native Spanish speakers and I can totally (not) understand them. Haha. So there’s my update!

This week’s Bednar minute: Could Christ have totally given up while he was suffring during the Atonement?

Answer: slightly complicated. Yes, but definitely not. Elder Bednar stressed that Christ’s role in this world was to “do the will of the Father.” Becuase He had agency, he definitely could have given up, but he didn’t! He related it to making baptismal covenants. When we accept it, our agency enlarges in the aspect of representative agency. We are representatives of Heavenly Father. He said that we don’t have agency in order to be disobedient, we have that agency to be obedient to the commandments of God through our covenants.

I hope everyone has an enjoyable Christmas break! Don’t stress too much over presents, keep Christ always on your mind and look for ways to serve eachother. With all the craziness going on the world keep your mind and heart focused on the Savior. The blessings of striving to become more like Him are endless. Time is flying by! I’ll make sure to tell you all about my new companion and area next week. San Fernando here I come…eventually.

Love you all!

Elder Allen

Leave a Reply

